Lean Six Sigma is about defeating failure. It is training staff to work as a team, avoid mistakes and making the most out of any business model. Understanding and using this program effectively requires everyone in the company to take part, even those in the top executive positions. There are eight forms of waste the Lean Six Sigma system teaches how to avoid. Companies that can identify this type of waste within their own business model are the organizations able to benefit most from the training.

  • Transportation: Moving files needlessly, handing off work repeatedly, unnecessary forwarding of information.
  • Inventory: Maintaining inventory is a sign of an inefficient system.
  • Motion: Using focused, action-directed movement only.
  • Waiting: Understanding scheduling and time management to prevent inactivity.
  • Overproduction: Creating more inventory than necessary.
  • Over-processing: Wasting time on tasks that accomplish nothing new.
  • Defects: Anything that does not meet client standards.
  • Skills: Failure to use all of the skills of each employee.

A Six Sigma Green Belt Certification Training program will explain why these topics are wasteful. To earn the Green Belt the employee must understand the full DMAIC framework required to earn their yellow belt and must fully comprehend the Lean methods listed above. Companies using this training method will gain from having more careful, thoughtful employees. Unlike basic cost cutting implementation or demands for higher productivity, this is a process that gives everyone the skills to do both without reducing quality. Each team member, in every department within a company, will learn how to become better, more productive employees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *